IRS Adopts "Taxpayer Bill of Rights;"

The Internal Revenue Service announced the adoption of a "Taxpayer Bill of Rights" that will become a cornerstone document to provide the nation's taxpayers with a better understanding of their rights.

The Taxpayer Bill of Rights takes the multiple existing rights embedded in the tax code and groups them into 10 broad categories, making them more visible and easier for taxpayers to find on

The tax code includes numerous taxpayer rights, but they are scattered throughout the code, making it difficult for people to track and understand. Similar to the U.S. Constitution’s Bill of Rights, the Taxpayer Bill of Rights contains 10 provisions. If you would like to review the IRS Publication, click here.

1.       The Right to Be Informed

2.       The Right to Quality Service

3.       The Right to Pay No More than the Correct Amount of Tax

4.       The Right to Challenge the IRS’s Position and Be Heard

5.       The Right to Appeal an IRS Decision in an Independent Forum

6.       The Right to Finality

7.       The Right to Privacy

8.       The Right to Confidentiality

9.       The Right to Retain Representation

10.     The Right to a Fair and Just Tax System